The month of October

October has been and gone, along with all the last dribs and drabs of creepy costumes and insides of poorly carved pumpkins. Honestly, it was a fairly unexciting month, but it filled me with pure happiness to witness the leaves changing colour and reaching for the matches to light those christmassy scented candles and wrap another layer around me. I love this time of year, even if it does make me whine when my toes are frozen. There’s something extra cosy and high spirited about it, so although all I’ve really done this month of note is work a lot and read the rest of the ‘Throne of Glass’ Maas series (oh my god!), I feel quite content. Thank you, October.

Read:
  • ‘Heir of Fire’ by Sarah J. Maas ★★★★★
  • ‘Queen of Shadows’ by Sarah J. Maas ★★★★
  • ‘A Quiet Kind of Thunder’ by Sara Barnard ★★★★★
  • ‘Empire of Storms’ by Sarah J. Maas ★★★★
Accumulated:
  • ‘The Complete Jane Austen Collection’ by Jane Austen
  • ‘What Light’ by Jay Asher (thanks to My Kinda Book!)
  • ‘A Quiet Kind of Thunder’ by Sara Barnard (thanks to My Kinda Book!)
  • ‘Frozen Charlotte’ by Alex Bell
  • ‘The Manifesto On How To Be Interesting’ by Holly Bourne
  • ‘The Twelve Days of Dash & Lily’ by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
  • ‘I Was Here’ by Gayle Forman
  • ‘Finding Audrey’ by Sophie Kinsella
  • ‘Empire of Storms’ by Sarah J. Maas
  • ‘The Assassins Blade’ by Sarah J. Maas
  • ‘Heartless’ by Marissa Meyer (thanks to My Kinda Book!)
  • ‘A Monster Calls’ by Patrick Ness
  • ‘If I Was Your Girl’ by Meredith Russo
  • ‘The One We Fell In Love With’ by Paige Toon
  • ‘Lying About Last Summer’ by Sue Wallman

To read:

  • ‘If I Was Your Girl’ by Meredith Russo
  • ‘What Light’ by Jay Asher
  • ‘The Graces’ by Laura Eve
I’m instigating a book buying ban. That list of accumulated books is awful. Aside from the few pre-orders that happened months ago (sneaky) and subscription boxes, November is a book buying free The physical TBR going on on my bookshelf is a little ridiculous and I have my birthday at the end of the month, so there’s always that way around this ban of mine… Heh. Although after completely gorging myself on Sarah J Maas, I now kind of need (not just want) the two books from her other series. We’ll see how it goes. With Christmas creeping closer, I’m very excited at the prospect of this month. Oh and by the way, I started a bookstagram account, so please follow if you’re a bookish too.
5 thoughts on “The month of October

  1. Ashleigh

    You read some great books in October!
    I’m on a book buying ban too, though I have been for about a month now…and will be until Christmas *cries* 😆 Good luck with yours! And I hope you have a great November 🙂

    Like

    • Alice Marshall

      I’m kind of obsessed with Sarah J Maas now! She creates such vivid fantasy worlds and I’m having serious post-book blues right now, but going to try and push myself through some more contemporaries, haha!

      Ah, you have some serious self control. I hope I can at least get through this month, especially considering I have pre-orders and subscription boxes to hopefully tie me over.. Eep.

      Thank you, lovely! Hope your’s is equally as lovely! xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

