The month of May and June

As we talked about at the end of April, my blogging habits have slipped a touch. I had become pretty consistent with it, but the good old phrase of ‘shit happens’ kind of, well, happened and I didn’t feel much like writing on here across April, straight on into May, either. And then June was a complete blur and I was actually — surprise surprise — quite busy. So, hello. It’s me. I’m back. I’m here. I’m going to pull my socks up and bring you up to speed, and summarise some book stuff for both May and June, too, because why the hell not?

Things that made me proud/happy/feel some kind of positive way:

  • Music really came out in full force in May. With releases from some of my absolute faves, including a Mr. Harry Styles, I was not short of jam after jam to listen to. The relief of surviving the actual concert ticket Hunger Games was also a pretty big high. And then…Harry decided to announce more tour dates for next year too, and now my bank account is crying.
  • I went to the Lake District with my sister, brother-in-law and niece. It’s the most north I’ve been in the UK and it was seriously such a beautiful place. The whole time was almost like living in a bubble, having a staycation and bonding even more with Eva was special.
  • A heck ton of National Trust days. This girl signed up for a young persons yearly membership and now I get to visit allllll the picturesque AF places, including Beatrice Potter’s house. I saw original Peter Rabbit drawings; it was truly magnificent.
  • The bath in the Air B&B we stayed in deserves its own bullet point. Claw feet tub, filled to the brim, mixed with ‘Sex Bomb’ from Lush and a glass of wine. Heaven. Wine in the bath should be a rule we all abide by.
  • I bought and wore clothes I felt good, maybe even a lil bit sexy, in. I’m almost certain this was a highlight back at the end of March, but that is a nice thing and it’s not nearly frequent enough.
  • I wrote a blog post called ‘almosts‘, which had a really heartwarming reception among some of you lovely readers. It was a personal one and, for me, those are generally the ones I enjoy writing the most. Bleeding yourself out in words is, I suppose, the foundation for why I write in the first place and I think I want to share more of that on here.
  • I had a fab ol’ time in London with my uni pals, celebrating birthdays and drinking Sex on the Beach cocktails out of a bucket; flowers around my neck and a buzz in my step.
  • Exciting things happened in June! I know what you’re thinking, what could be more exciting than a Harry Styles album and tickets?! Well, I’ve made the decision to stay where I am rather than push the move to London just yet. But I’m still very much in need of moving out, gaining my independence again and getting my foot in the media world. And, in the space of making this decision and the last time I wrote a blog post with updates… I have landed myself a full time job in a digital media company in Bath.
  • And…on the same line of thought, I’m planning to move in with my pal Liam and get a cute AF flat.
  • Can’t finish this post without mentioning how incredible — i n c r e d i b l e — the TV adaption of ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ is. Woah. Just go watch it and try not to buckle with fear when it dawns on you how terrifyingly easy it would to slip into such a society.

And onto the bookish wrap-up…

Current Reads:

  • ‘If Birds Fly Back’ by Carlie Sarosiak

Read:

(May)

  • ‘Countless’ by Karen Gregory ★★★
  • ‘A Court of Wrath and Ruin’ by Sarah J. Maas ★★★
  • ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ by Margaret Atwood ★★★★
  • ‘Always and Forever, Lara Jean’ by Jenny Han ★★★★

(June)

  • ‘Lord of Shadows’ by Cassandra Clare ★★★★★
  • ‘When Dimple Met Rishi’ by Sandhya Menon ★★★★

Accumulated:

  • ‘We Should All Be Feminsts’ by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • ‘The Vagenda’ by Holly Baxter and Rhiannon Lucy Cosslett
  • ‘Lord of Shadows’ by Cassandra Clare
  • ‘Moonrise’ by Sarah Crossan (thank you Bloomsbury!)
  • ‘Always and Forever, Lara Jean’ by Jenny Han
  • ‘The Princess Saves Herself in This One’ by Amanda Lovelace
  • ‘A Court of Wrath and Ruin’ by Sarah J. Maas
  • ‘Wilde Like Me’ by Louise Pentland
  • ‘Unboxed’ by Non Pratt
  • ‘We See Everything’ by William Sutcliffe (thank you Bloomsbury!)
  • ‘A Change is Gonna Come’ by Various Authors (via NetGalley)

TwitterInstagramGoodreads

Leave a Reply

