The month of March

You know how there are certain months that instantly get you pumped and looking forward to that first day coming around? For me, the one’s that probably stand out are the summer months, mainly July and August, and then as soon as the first chill hits and the leaves turn orange I’m all about October, November (uh, my birthday, helloooo?!) and December (this doesn’t need stating). I never expect a lot out of March, even though, really, expecting anything out of any given month is stupid, because time and months and days are just human made things to somehow bring a semblance of structure to our lives. Hm, deep. Moving on. My point: March 2017 has been kind of wonderful. Not because anything too big happened, but because, for the first time, in a long while actually, I didn’t for one moment have that sinking feeling in my stomach and in the back of my mind that I was about to slip back into another depressive episode. Even when that pesky red sea came around, I was alright. Achey boobs and son of a bitch cramps, but alright. Even when battling this new wave of lacking body confidence, I managed to get out on to the other side and buy jeans (!!!) for goodness sake. March has been good, and here are a couple reasons why…

10 things that made me proud/happy/feel some kind of positive way:

  • Celebrating my eldest sister’s 30th birthday with close friends and family around, squeezed into a dinky café in Wells.
  • Ed Sheeran’s new album. I mean, damn. What an amalgamation of feels and waves of nostalgia, like songs I’d heard before and things I’d experienced, but not.
  • The catharsis of crying at not one, but two films this month. The first of which I absolutely sobbed at. Me?! The girl who literally Does. Not. Cry. At. Films. (The Light Between Two Oceans, btw. It’s a killer.)
  • The second film was, of course, ‘Beauty and the Beast’, which I blogged about! I’m still thinking about it weeks later and planning my next trip to see it, because it has left a mark.
  • This year’s International Women’s Day was also hugely inspiring. My fellow women are constantly killing it and March, for me, felt like a huge two fingers up to the patriarchy, the media and all the messages that are trying to bring us down when we’re so much more than all of it.
  • I got some very lovely book mail from My Kinda Book and Bloomsbury this month and it honestly made me feel like a certified Professional Blogger. And just… books, mate!
  • Something big happened. I jumped a huge hurdle in my life; got that ball rolling, so to speak. Yep, this girl bit the bullet (probs need to stop with all these metaphors now) and started filling out applications for London based jobs.
  • This girl also got her first rejection, but I’m taking it in my stride. It’ll take time, like most difficult things in life. But it’ll be worth it. And I’m excited. Exhilarated, relieved and a little bit scared. But, yes, excited.
  • I’m really rubbish when it comes to rereading books, but I’m a seasoned pro at rewatching my favourite TV series over and over again — rather than keeping up with the ones ongoing, that is. And I made the executive decision to finally restart ‘The O.C’ from the beginning and, my god, I am loving it. How did I forget about how dorky and wonderful and stomach-flipping gorgeous Seth Cohen is? And all those 2003 feels listening to ‘California’ and watching the ‘Schwartz Reports’ (anyone else remember those on C4 before a new ep played?) with my sister.
  • Started the month with a cute family event and ended it with the most lovely Mothering Sunday. Spring walks that smell like hot tarmac and freshly bloomed flowers, and one happy mum with the beginnings of her next New York fund.

And onto the bookish wrap-up…

Current Reads:

  • ‘The State of Grace’ by Rachael Lucas

Read:

  • ‘Windfall’ by Jennifer E. Smith ★★★
  • ‘Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy’ ★★★★★
  • ‘Crooked Kingdom’ by Leigh Bardugo ★★★★★
  • ‘Milk and Honey’ by Rupi Kaur ★★★★★

Accumulated:

  • ‘The Handmaids Tale’ by Margaret Atwood
  • ‘Letters To My Fanny’ Cherry Healey
  • ‘The Names They Gave Us’ by Emery Lord (thanks to Bloomsbury!)
  • ‘The State of Grace’ by Rachael Lucas (thanks to My Kinda Book!)
  • ‘One of Us is Lying’ by Karen M. McManus (via Netgalley)
  • ‘Nasty Women’ – essay collection by 404 Ink (via Netgalley)

TwitterInstagramGoodreads

Leave a Reply

