The month of February

March is here. It’s actually been here for a whole weeks worth of days, but, as usual, I’m only just getting to putting the final touches to my monthly wrap-up. I didn’t read an awful lot of books in the month of February. Unlike the latter half of last year, I feel like I’m taking more time with them. That, or I’ve just been hideously busy and found barely any spare moments to rifle through the pages of a book. It’s been a very social month, as you’ll see in my little highlights list, which, in hindsight, I’ve gotta say seems to be just what I need right now. Although I identify as an extrovert, over the years I’ve developed some of the qualities of an introvert in that I sometimes find gatherings quite emotionally exhausting and, a lot of the time, feel as though I’m living the parties and meals or whatever in a bubble, only barely hearing the echoes and not being able to plant my head in the moment. So, more and more, I find the balance difficult, but this month’s social festivities seem to have done my general mental state a lot of good. I kind of think I’m living that Roald Dahl quote about letting the sun shine through your face…

10 things that made me proud/happy/feel some kind of postive way:

  • At the end of the month, I finally got to see Lee and Pippa (who wrote a fab post on our day together). I showed them the sights of Bath and we did something seriously spontaneous that I’m kind of in love with, which leads me on to…
  • I finally got a Harry Potter inspired tattoo. Perhaps there will be a photo hanging around of that in the future, but for now I’m very happy with my second ink addition.
  • Social skills were out in full force with two nights out with my work pals, who are honestly a blessing in keeping me sane through such a tedious job.
  • I went to my first book event, attending the launch party for Maggie Harcourt’s ‘Unconventional’ at the Waterstones in Bath. Post still to come…
  • I received some lovely, heartwarming snail mail all the way from Natalie in Canada. It features as the header image in my post about ‘deep like likes’, and it kind of made my lonely Valentine’s Day feel a bit more full.
  • A little fist pump for the fact Grace featured my ‘self love’ blog post in her own about body confidence. Her blog is probably the one I read most religiously, because of her writing style and the genuine personal touches it has, so this was just REAL nice. Thanks, bbz.
  • I finally, finally saw ‘Moana’ and my God, is it not the most empowering uplifting Disney film you’ve ever seen?! As if the music wasn’t enough, the diversity, characterisation, general message and beautiful CGI were all insane!
  • I picked up one of my fic WIPs and rewrote a few thousand words of it. I’ve since left it again, but it’s a start and I’m slowly but surely falling back in love with it. Only a few more chapters to go and it’ll be complete after 84 years!
  • The beginning of February brought an almost 4 hour long Skype call with previously mentioned Canadian bud. It’s sad when we don’t get a chance to talk as much as we did at the beginning of our friendship, but it makes the long anticipated Skype calls that much better.
  • I had a real good drunken kiss. Real good. Like, my compatible kissing partner. Where’d you go, oh beautiful soul?

And onto the bookish wrap-up…

Current Reads:

  • ‘Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy’ by Cassandra Clare
  • ‘Windfall’ by Jennifer E. Smith
  • ‘Milk and Honey’ Rupi Kaur

Read:

  • ‘Unconventional’ by Maggie Harcourt ★★★★
  • Girl Up‘ by Laura Bates ★★★★★
  • Doing It‘ by Hannah Witton ★★★★

Accumulated:

  • ‘The Upside of Unrequited’ by Becky Albertalli (via NetGalley)
  • ‘Who Runs The World?’ by Virginia Bergin (via NetGalley)
  • ‘Bridget Jones’ Diary’ by Helen Fielding
  • ‘Countless’ by Karen Gregory (via NetGalley)
  • ‘Unconventional’ by Maggie Harcourt
  • ‘Milk and Honey’ by Rupi Kaur
  • ‘Windfall’ by Jennifer E. Smith (thanks to My Kinda Book!)
  • ‘If Birds Fly Back’ by Carlie Sorosiak (via NetGalley)
  • ‘Doing It’ by Hannah Witton (via NetGalley)

“If you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely.”

Currently listening to #2

TwitterInstagramGoodreads

Leave a Reply

