The month of November

I don’t know about you, but I’m feelin’ twenty-twooooo. Oooh, oooh. Yes, this girl just turned 22. In fact, I turned 22 on the last day of November (because that’s my birthday, duh), so it feels pretty apt to open this monthly summary following (a couple of days after, because I am not organised) the final day of my twenty second year on this world. That makes sense, right? … Maths. Anyway. I am now the proud owner of a beautiful blue record player and on the other side of having seen ‘Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them’. All I have to say is Eddie Redmayne’s wife is lucky she’d already nabbed him, otherwise all of my morals would be coming into question right about now. (Not really. But also maybe.) Boy can act. I will never get sick of seeing all the roles he inhabits next, because he does it oh so well.

Read:

  • ‘If I Was Your Girl’ by Meredith Russo’ ★★★★
  • ‘…And A Happy New Year?’ by Holly Bourne ★★★★★
  • ‘The Loneliness of Distant Beings’ by Kate Ling ★★
  • ‘The Graces’ by Laure Eve’ ★★★
  • ‘The Next Together’ by Lauren James ★★★
  • ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ by Sarah J Maas ★★★★★
  • ‘Holding Up The Universe’ by Jennifer Niven ★★★★
  • ‘A Court of Mist and Fury’ by Sarah J Maas (currently reading)

Accumulated:

  • ‘…And A Happy New Year?’ by Holly Bourne
  • ‘Moon Chosen’ by P. C. Cast
  • ‘Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy’ by Cassandra Clare
  • ‘The Diabolic’ by S. J. Kincaid
  • ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ by Sarah J Maas
  • ‘A Court of Mist and Fury’ by Sarah J Maas
  • ‘Holding Up The Universe’ by Jennifer Niven
  • ‘Stealing Snow’ by Danielle Paige
  • ‘Girl Online: Going Solo’ by Zoe Sugg
  • ‘The Sun is Also a Star’ by Nicola Yoon

To read:

  • ‘What Light’ by Jay Asher
  • ‘The Twelve Days of Dash & Lily’ by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

It’s safe to say my November book buying ban didn’t go well. In my defence, a couple of these books were pre-orders, two were from book subscription boxes and one I won in a competition. So, if we’re being specific, I only bought five knowingly breaking my flimsy promise to try and not buy any more books until I’d made a bigger dent in my physical, mountainous TBR. But, really, what’s the harm? I love books, I plan to read all in my possession, and, if not, one day donate them. The thing is… I like to have a selection to choose from, otherwise I feel forced into reading a book I’m not necessarily yearning for in that very moment. One day I will find myself reaching for it, but not today. I posed much the same sentiment on my bookstagram and someone else agreed, so I am now validated in my book buying obsessive behaviour, thank you very much! Also, give me some credit. I went into Foyles on Charing Cross Road for the first time ever and I didn’t buy anything, even though it was the most vast collection of YA heaven I had ever seen.

For December, I plan to incoproate some festive reads into my TBR, as you can see. I’m also thinking about purchasing the two anthologies of short Christmassy stories from both UK and US authors. But… we shall see. I feel like this month I actually need to not buy for myself, because tis the season for giving, right? And I have a lot of nieces and nephews. Sigh. Thinking about this being the last month of the year is weird, and the fact that the next time I do one of these posts it’ll be 2017. Can time just stop for a second, please?

Currently listening to #2

TwitterInstagramGoodreads

Leave a Reply

