The month of July

I think we can pretty much assume that since finishing and graduating from university, books have, once again, very much become my friends. I’ve read just over four books this month, with Carrie Hope Fletcher’s fifty-percent complete and sort of, maybe not my cup of tea — but I’m going to god damn well try and finish it anyway. I’ve also bought a lot of books, which I can’t altogether justify with my very scary bank balance, but I’m going to just churn over the words of my mother that spending money on books isn’t really spending money at all, right? Actually, I’m not sure that was what she said. It can’t have been anywhere near as poetic as that. But the gist was it’s better than spending it on clothes or bottles of prosecco and I’d have to agree — although I very much like those things, too!

Read:

  • ‘Everything, Everything’ by Nicola Yoon ★★★★★
  • ‘The Sky Is Everywhere’ by Jandy Nelson ★★★
  • ‘Under Rose-Tainted Skies’ by Louise Gornall ★★★★★
  • ‘We Are Liars’ by E. Lockhart ★★★★
  • ‘On The Other Side’ by Carrie Hope Fletcher (currently reading)
Accumulated:
  • ‘Am I Normal Yet?’ by Holly Bourne
  • ‘How Hard Can Love Be?’ by Holly Bourne
  • ‘What’s A Girl Gotta Do?’ by Holly Bourne
  • ‘One’ by Sarah Crossan
  • ‘On The Other Side’ by Carrie Hope Fletcher
  • ‘Under Rose-Tainted Skies’ by Louise Gornall
  • ‘We Are Liars’ by E. Lockhart
  • ‘Songs About a Girl’ by Chris Russell
To be read:
  • ‘The Potion Diaries’ by Amy Alward
  • ALL OF THE HOLLY BOURNE!
  • ‘The Boyfriend List’ by E. Lockhart
  • ‘Songs About a Girl’ by Chris Russell
As for July itself. Well, it’s been considerably less exciting than June, though I’m fast realising that life’s pace is in a near-constant state of decline post-university. It’s been a very family orientated month with my niece and nephew both turning 1. (Different sisters, different birthdays, not twins, just FYI!) There was a lot of cake smashing and, indeed, cake eating, which not so easily follows on to the fact I’ve taken up running. I’m starting off small, only running about 1 mile a time because I’m very unfit and pretty much a sweating tomato by the end of it. It’s really unattractive and probably the upside of there being absolutely zero talent in my small home town.
From being a sweaty mess to gloriously glamorous (well, I tried) on my graduation day. It was such an insane day. It swept past me like a jammed up fast-forward button and I definitely wish I’d taken more mental pictures than I managed. But I did write a whole post reflecting on the occasion, so there’s that for when I’m old and grey, with a rapidly declining cluster of memories. You can also read it if you’d like, obviously. And that, honestly, is about it… Exciting stuff. I’ve also been applying for some pretty mundane part time jobs. Weirdly, the act of being productive and hitting that ‘apply’ button does bring a bubble of anticipation — the good kind. It’s one step closer to earning more money and, subsequently, one step closer to living and working in dreamy London. I think that’d be a pretty good way to live out my 20s.
2 thoughts on “The month of July

  1. Laura

    Let me just say that I absolutely love your writing style!
    The books you've read and bought both look pretty great. I've been wanting to read some Holly Bourne books for a while now. I bought Am I Normal Yet? a few months ago, and I still haven't read a single word of it. Shame on me. Maybe I'll get around to it this month!
    Also, good on you for taking up running again! I used to love it, but then I injured myself and long story short, I've never worn my running shoes after that. I really should start again. Good luck on your running-adventures, and have a great August!

    Like

  2. Alice Marshall

    Hey Laura!! Thank you so much, I'm glad you enjoyed the post and my writing. Writing compliments are kind of the best ever, they give me extra warm fuzzies, so thank you thank you thank you!

    As for Holly Bourne, go forth and read. I've read Am I Normal Yet? and How Hard Can Love Be? since writing this post, and these are honestly some of the best books I've read. I've never been so excited to write a review. They have so many layers and elements that I'm absolutely enamoured with. Most of all, SO. MUCH. FEMINISM. CHAT. I would highly recommend you get on those books as soon as physically possible!

    The running is a little eh.. It's so easy to get down trodden about it, especially as I'm doing it with the hope of losing a few (read: a lot of) pounds. But I'll try and keep at it! And yes, do!! Don't let an accident stop you from continuing, sounds like you were pretty good at it! 🙂 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

