The month of June

 As a part of resurrecting the ol’ blog, I want to start a new exciting (and very bookish) segment. Welcome to my monthly wrap up of the books I’ve read, bought and propose to read in the following month, as well as a small summary on what the thirty-odd days have consisted of outside of the hours and hours spent with my nose shoved in a book. I’m hoping by sustaining this blog, it’ll push me to make more time for reading and, simultaneously, motivate and give me something to write about on this here blog in the first place. Whilst this particular month of June is going to look fairly stark, I hope over the coming months the list of ‘read’ books will be far more substantial. Without further ado, here’s June…

Read:

  • ‘Blue Lily Lily Blue’ (‘The Raven Cycle’ #3) by Maggie Steifvater ★★★
  • ‘Beautiful Broken Things’ by Sara Barnard ★★★★
  • ‘Everything, Everything’ by Nicola Yoon (currently reading)

Accumulated:

  • ‘The Potion Diaries’ by Amy Alward
  • ‘Beautiful Broken Things’ by Sara Barnard
  • ‘The Sky is Everywhere’ by Jandy Nelson
  • ‘Everything, Everything’ by Nicola Yoon

To be read:

  • ‘The Potion Diaries’ by Amy Alward
  • ‘On the Other Side’ by Carrie Hope Fletcher
  • ‘How To Be A Woman’ by Caitlin Moran
  • ‘The Sky is Everywhere’ by Jandy Nelson

May ended and June started on a boat sailing across the Thames. London glittered and champagne slipped easily down our throats as we toasted to not only the end of the academic year, but the end of our university careers period. I swapped my title from undergrad and student to graduate and, later in the month, I would discover that I was, somehow, walking away with a First Class degree. Madness. June also brought my final couple of weeks living as a resident in my favourite city in the world and being in walking distance of some of the best people I know. There was also a lot of Harry Potter, which is never going to be a bad thing! I went to the House of MinaLima, that had just recently opened on Greek Street in Soho, and looked around the exhibit of graphic design from the HP films. 

Quite aptly, I also went to the Warner Brother Harry Potter Studios Tour for the second time. The first time I went was back in 2013 just two days before my A Level results day and the morning I would find out whether I’d done enough to get into university, so it felt quite fitting. There were a lot of teary goodbyes and pensive moments for me, trying to process the crazy and incredible last three years of my life. Ultimately I had to give a wave to 69D and my amazing friends and move back to Somerset. The rest of the month has been at a far slower pace. I’ve spent a lot of time with my entourage of nieces and nephews and seeing the rest of my immediate family. It’s been lovely to have a bit more time at my disposal and not having that usual inevitable feeling that the student grind will start up before I know it. Still, when September comes around, I know there’s going to be a part of me that’s confused as to why I’m not packing up and travelling across the country again. It’s the end of seventeen years of habit.

Leave a Reply

