Sunday round-up #13

Hello, you lovely lot. It has been a while since we had one of our Sunday chit chats, so grab yourself a beverage of your choice (I’m slurping chocolate milkshake naturally), settle down in a comfy seat and… have a read of this post? I can’t say I was entirely sure of where that was going, but there you go. Also, take a look around β€” I did a bit of updating on the old aesthetic. Do you like it? It’s a bit simpler than ‘Most Ardently Alice’s’ last look.

Recently I’ve been thinking a lot about escapism. There’s always going to be moments in our lives when we need a little breather, and we need to be comfortable enough in ourselves to sometimes have those periods of time alone. Sure, an exotic holiday away for two seems pretty ideal to get you away from all those things that have got you stressed or just generally put you in a bad mood. But the type of escapism I’m talking about is a ticket just for one. You.

I think it’s very important for us to pride ourselves on being able to spend time alone, and be content in such a situation. We should never rely on others entirely to keep us happy and entertained. Besides, what if you start experiencing a bit of cabin fever and those people start to rub you the wrong way? You’re stuck then. Be happy with others, but also be happy with just you.

These past couple of weeks, I’ve been really enjoying getting back into creative writing. It has been something I have missed being able to do recently with the work load that full time education brings. But, more than that, I just haven’t been feeling very inspired β€” writer’s block sucks! However, after deliberating over a few ideas, storing them away for a later date and then reworking them, I’ve finally started a little fictitious project.

I can’t even put into words how happy it makes me to get back at my craft again. I imagine it’s the same enlightening feeling when an artist picks up a paintbrush again, or a musician plays a few chords. Satisfying β€” like finally taking a breath after a long time of not really living. I guess that’s something we label as ‘passion’, and I’m really grateful to finally be rediscovering mine again. I would like to push everyone to find their’s, and cherish and nurture it. Now I’ve found my flow with writing again, I feel like I’m living in my own little creative bubble. That’s the kind of escapism to be aiming for.

What’s the art to escapism?
4 thoughts on “Sunday round-up #13

  1. binx

    So happy to hear you are getting back into creative writing! After two semesters of creative writing courses, I feel like all of my inspiration has been sucked out of me. Hopefully I'll get back in the swing of things soon as well. Loved that last paragraph. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Alice Marshall

    Oh no, I've heard that from a few other people who do creative writing courses! I hope you find your flow again. I've been stuck in a rut of writing essays and articles, and as much as I love studying journalism, nothing beats a little bit of fiction! :)) xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

